Ayur: “life”

Veda: “wisdom”

Ayurveda is regarded as Yoga’s “sister science.” While yoga utilizes techniques like postures, breathing exercises, concentration & meditation techniques to bring health & balance, Ayurveda employs similar modalities, but more. Ayurveda incorporates sensory therapies (taste, smell, hearing, sight & touch) to help heal & rejuvenate. Common interventions & ways to balance include include diet, herbs, cleansing, massage & various lifestyle adjustments.

ayurveda means life wisdom.jpg

What’s a Dosha?

Ayurveda sees perfection in nature.  Nature consists of 5 elements: earth, air, fire, water, and ether (space).  Humans also consist of 5 elements- you see earth in our structure, air in our ability to move, fire in our metabolism, water as fluid in our bodies and ether (being the most subtle element) in our minds.

 Everyone has a unique elemental profile; while we consist of all 5 elements, some elements are more prevalent in us than others.  

Ayurveda uses the term Dosha to describe our elemental profiles.
       There are three doshas, each consisting of two elements. 

    Vata Doshaair and ether  (responsible for motion)
                                  Pitta Doshafire and water  (responsible for digestion & metabolism)
                                  Kapha Doshaearth and water  (responsible for structure & stability)

Just as we consist of all 5 elements, we too are all 3 doshas.  Ayurveda calls the inherent ideal balance off these in a person’s body their Prakruti, or individual constitution.  This constitution determines the physical and structural characteristics that define our bodies as well as our physiological tendencies.  The doshas also affect our emotional tendencies and the expression of our personalities.

kapha lady.jpg

More Info Coming Soon!

pitta person.jpg

More Info Coming Soon!

vata man.jpg

More Info Coming Soon!